Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

You are here:


The Ministry of Education would like to thank lead writer, Associate Professor Katie Fitzpatrick, University of Auckland, and the following people and groups who were instrumental in helping to shape the development of the guide:

Alison Green, Te Puāwai Tapu Trust

Robert Muller, The Village Collective

Lea Cowley

Health education experts group: Dr Gillian Tasker, Dr Jenny Roberson, Debi Futter-Puati, Mary-Anne McAllum 

A number of individuals, organisations, and schools gave valuable feedback on the development of the guide, including:

New Zealand Family Planning

Rainbow Youth

Youth Law

New Zealand Catholic Education Office

New Zealand Schools Trustees Assocation

New Zealand Post Primary Teachers' Association

Physical Education New Zealand

Rape Prevention Education

The Theatre in Health Education Trust

NZ Health Education Association


Peer Sexuality Support Programme

School Nurses’ Association

School Counsellors’ Association


Ministry of Health

Human Rights Commission

Faculty of Education, University of Auckland

School of Psychology, University of Auckland

The Adolescent Health Research Group (University of Auckland)

Alfriston College

Tuakau College

Lynfield College

Botany Downs High School

Long Bay College

Albany Senior High School

Edgewater College

Otahuhu College

Pakuranga High School

Western Springs College

Orewa College

Elm Park School

Auckland Primary Principals Association

Little River Primary School

Geraldine High School

Team Solutions

Health and physical education teacher cluster groups: East Auckland; South Auckland, North Shore

Pre-service health and physical education students (BPE, University of Auckland)

Students in years 9–13 from a range of secondary schools in Auckland

Rainbow group (staff and students) Faculty of Education, University of Auckland

The Ministry would also like to thank Pauline Scanlan, CORE Education, for her contribution to the guide.